NAPRECA, the Natural Products Research Network for East and Central Africa, was conceived by East and Central African scientists who attended the 14th International Symposium on the Chemistry of Natural Products in 1984 in Poland. Its establishment was borne from the realization that Africa was rich in biodiversity, but poor in research and development in natural products. NAPRECA became a fully-fledged network and started operating in earnest in 1988 when in 1987 it became affiliated to UNESCO as one of UNESCO’s network programmes. A NAPRECA Coordinating Board had its first meeting in Addis Ababa on March 1988......

Our News
DAAD 2018 Summer schools for DAAD scholarship holders

DAAD is offering the following Summer school opportunities in Germany for current DAAD scholarship holders:

  • HAW Hamburg (June 2018): “Education And Research oriented Training in Health Sciences 2018” more information here
  • University of Heidelberg (August 2018): “Enhancing Academic Qualifications in Teaching and Research in Public Health 2018”
  • University of Leipzig (September 2018): “Project development for knowledge transfer 2018”
  • University of Frankfurt (September 2018): “Geo Training 2018: Training Program on Environmental and Remote Sensing Data Analysis via Geospatial Technologies in Research and Teaching”


DAAD – NAPRECA Scholarship for 2018/2019

The German Academic Exchange Services (DAAD) and Natural Products Research Network for Eastern and Central Africa (NAPRECA) have been implementing a postgraduate scholarship scheme since the 1988/89. The programme aims at providing support to staff development at universities and research institutions in the sub-region. DAAD provides scholarship funds annually to six new candidates in close partnership with NAPRECA. Nominees for the scholarship will pursue postgraduate studies leading to 2 MSc. and 4 Ph.D. degrees in Biology and Chemistry with a special bias towards natural products chemistry. Applicants selection are selected from among young research or teaching assistants/demonstrators in universities or research institutes of NAPRECA member countries (Botswana, Cameroon, DR Congo, Egypt, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Rwanda, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda and Zimbabwe). Successful candidates shall pursue postgraduate studies in any of the institutions affiliated with NAPRECA member countries other than their home country. Please read carefully DAAD Scholarship Information Sheet.


Support the University of Kinshasa

Support the University of Kinshasa.


17th NAPRECA Symposium in Addis Ababa (Ethiopia) 13-16 August 2017

The 17thNAPRECA Symposium will  take place in Addis Ababa (Ethiopia) during the period 13 to 16 August 2017. click here for further information